International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Issues New Standard for Air Filter Testing and Rating

The world’s leading health-related organizations consider PM10, PM2.5 and PM1 fine dust fractions as the most important and dangerous for humans. Their official documentation to the public always refers to these PM levels. It is therefore logical that filter test methods and classifications follow this approach to demonstrate filtration performance towards the most harmful fine dusts.

ISO 16890 types of fine dust fractions 

Due to their Harmfulness, Permanence, and Frequency, Particles Smaller or Equal to 1μm need the Most Attention

The lighter and smaller a particle is, the longer it stays in the air. 

ISO 16890, particle size, fine dust particle size 

Particles smaller than 1 micron contribute only a few % to the mass, at the same time contributing to over 90% of the numbers.

ISO 16890 Classifications Are Based On Where Particles Are Deposited in the Human Lung

ISO 16890, health effects of PM1 particles 

The Main Difference Between EN779 and ISO 16890

difference between EN779 and ISO 16890 


ISO 16890 Testing and Classification Procedure

ISO 16890 Testing and Classification Procedure